Posted by: Gregg | August 21, 2006

Terrified. Well, only mildly terrified. But still terrified.

Grad school craziness starts this Friday. Actually, it’s already started; the school uses a special online database where we can post our homework, hold discussion groups, and download assignments and reading material. It’s called Blackboard, and I’m taking a class online that teaches me how to use all this stuff properly. The system is user-friendly and fairly easy to navigate, with lessens the terror only marginally.

I think it’s because my undergrad experience was so lousy. I wasn’t engaged with my school and it in turn didn’t bother trying to engage with me. UMKC was (is) a commuter school so there was no reason to join any groups or get active in the social community, since the only people who stuck around were those that had no choice. Here, with Emporia State’s MLS program, it’s mostly online, so the procrastination and lax attitude that followed me throughout my academic career will absolutely kill me here.

This weekend will be my first real test. I’ll be in class all day Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. I’ve got my books, I’ve got my schedule, the hotel’s reserved, my pencils and pens are ready to go. It’s been a while since my first day of school. No matter how old you get, the terror still hasn’t gone away.

But, secretly, it’s all kinda fun, too.

Responses

  1. So, what classes are you taking?


Leave a Reply

Categories

