Posted by: Gregg | September 22, 2006

Where there are few problems that can’t be solved with a strong right hook to the jaw…

This weekend’s a school weekend, so I’ll soon be toiling in Emporia’s vast library mines. My paper’s written, the group presentation is ready to go, and I’ve even read all most some of my reading assignments.

The book I’m bringing with me to read during my off-class hours is “The Chinatown Death Cloud Peril” by Paul Malmont. I’ve had my eye on it for a while – not only because the book has such an amazing title like “The Chinatown Death Cloud Peril,” but also because of the cover: a pretty Betty Grable-esque redhead pressed against the body of a iron-jawed man, his top lip curled against his teeth in determination, firing bullets from a .45 to an unseen menace. I don’t care who the author is, you just can’t possibly beat that. Gore Vidal probably would have sold more books if his books had covers like that. The back cover has a positive blurb from Glen David Gold who wrote the amazing Carter Beats the Devil, a book about the golden age of stage magicians.

I’m about midway thorugh “Peril” and I’m enjoying every word. It’s a pulp adventure that features the creator of the Shadow, Walter Gibson, and the creator of Doc Savage, Lester Dent. Other characters include H.P. Lovecraft, Chester Himes, and a young writer on the make by the name of Ron Hubbard. It’s not on the level of Carter, but it’s fabulous stuff and a hell of a lot of fun. Pulp-tastic!

Responses

  1. I *must* read this book!

  2. Absolutely. It’s right in your wheelhouse.

    It’s only fair, since you tipped me to “Carter.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

