Posted by: Gregg | September 28, 2006

Quick hits.

I finished Chinatown Death Cloud Peril, and it is very fine. Like Carter Beats the Devil and The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Klay, books that it emulates, Peril takes creators of American myths and turns them into myths themselves. Two of the most popular authors of pulp fiction in the 1930’s put aside their professional rivalry and team up to solve the murder of a collegaue that quickly blossoms into an adventure that resembles the stories that they write. It’s a bit slow to develop because author Paul Malmont has an obvious love for the time period and his descriptions and conversations sometimes get in the way of the action, but it’s well worth it. Especially the minor characters who pop in and out of the story and who you’re meant to recognize, especially a cowboy who recites poetry and a hard-nosed, tough-talking Brooklyn newsboy. Great fun.

Monday night is quickly becoming my favorite night of television with the back-to-back NBC lineup of “Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip” and “Heroes”. “Studio 60” remained strong with its second episode and the premiere of “Heroes” completely knocked it out of the park. The show about normal people who develop extraordinary powers pushed all my gee-whiz buttons without ever taking itself too seriously or getting too cheesy; for long suffering comic-book fans like me, I understand there’s a fine line between Unbreakable and “The Misfits of Science.” It’s a show that’s fantastic as well as believable, a perfect mixture, and for that reason it’ll probably get cancelled and replaced by a Pauly Shore vehicle around mid-season.

Last night’s Project: Runway was as riveting as ever. Next week’s the finale, and I still think the show is Laura’s to lose even though I’m rooting for Michael to somehow pull off a comeback win – I picked her to go all the way after the first episode and I’ll stick with it. Any person who uses the phrase “full-tilt-boogie” in conversation without irony I just have to root for.

Responses

  1. I still don’t like Heroes, as shown in my ‘review.’

    I’ve given it two weeks, but I’m not sure I can give it much more time. And I had such high hopes….


Leave a Reply

Categories

