Posted by: Gregg | November 21, 2006

“It’s reality, and that’s what happens.”

Kansas City’s own Robert Altman died today. Since he was KC’s contribution to film history, and he was one of the greatest American film directors ever, I feel like I should post about him.

Everyone and their dog will list MASH, The Player, Short Cuts, Gosford Park, and Nashville as their favorite Altman movies. My favorite of his has always been Cookie’s Fortune – I’ve recommended it to tons of people and I’ve never heard a negative word about it.  

I think I’ll fire that sucker up on DVD tonight. Rest in peace, Bob.

Responses

  1. Since I haven’t lived here long, I didn’t even know Altman was from Kansas City. Cookie’s Fortune is good, but I think I have to say that Short Cuts is my favorite… I think because it came out around the time I was going through a Raymond Carver phase.

    I did not see Prairie Home Companion, but have not heard good things – a sour note to go out on?

  2. Like many KC celebrities, Altman only got famous once he left. His film Kansas City is supposed to be a tribute to the city of his birth, however I thought it was merely blah – the best part of the movie is the music. If you’re ever interested in hearing authentic Kansas City jazz, it has an excellent soundtrack, along with the even better “KC After Dark” CD, which contains the music they couldn’t fit in the movie.

    I’ve not seen Prairie Home Companion, but from what I understand, it does an excellent job of capturing the feel of the radio show, so if you don’t dig that, then you won’t dig the film. And if a movie can in any way overcome the presence of Lindsay Lohan, then I’m in favor of it.

  3. I can’t believe I forgot about Cookie’s Fortune — that’s one of my favorites, too! Seen it a bunch of times, and it never loses its charm & bite.


Leave a Reply

Categories

