Posted by: Gregg | December 26, 2006

Tag, I’m it.

I’ve been tagged by my drinking buddy Josh (happy birthday!) over at Goblin in the Library: a list of five things you (probably) don’t know about me.

1.) I was the lead in two plays while a senior in high school. I played the Clark Kent/Superman role in a play called Captain Fantastic– a role that required me to wear a spandex orange and yellow outfit, which didn’t give me any issues about my body, oh  no – and then I played Felix Unger in the Odd Couple alongside my best friend at the time, who played Oscar Madison.

2.) I’ve had my writing published. My friends and I scraped together some money and wrote, drew, and published our own comic books. Unfortunately, it was right in the middle of the Great Comics Glut of 1993, so our revolutionary takeover of the industry lasted all of three issues, primarily because our comics weren’t polybagged with five alternate metallic laser-etched holographic covers. (People who collected comics in the 1990s will get the joke.) I also got to go to the Chicago Comicon as a creator and see Neil Gaiman, so it was all totally worth it.

3.) I’m a loyal NPR listener but HATE HATE HATE Car Talk and Prairie Home Companion.

4.) I grind my teeth and have to wear a hard plastic nightguard in my mouth when I sleep. I’ll spit it out in the middle of the night and my wife has to act as cornerman, putting it back in.

5.) Favorite book: The Long Goodbye, by Raymond Chandler.

Responses

  1. Hey, I actually learned one or two things about you I hadn’t previously known!

    I quite like Car Talk (the two brothers remind me of my dad, in a good way), but have a love/hate relationship with PHC (there are bits of it I think are charming or droll, but other parts that I find boring at best and absolutely grating at worst–and I like Garrison Keillor’s politics in general, but find he can also act like a conservative, cranky old man, and I hate that in anyone).

  2. Um, you don’t think these two are related?

    3.) I’m a loyal NPR listener but HATE HATE HATE Car Talk and Prairie Home Companion.

    4.) I grind my teeth and have to wear a hard plastic nightguard in my mouth when I sleep. I’ll spit it out in the middle of the night and my wife has to act as cornerman, putting it back in.

    Don’t fight them, Gregg. Click and Clack and GK are your friends. They don’t want you to grind, grind, grind every night. They know what’s best for you. Let them in. Know peace.


Leave a Reply

Categories

