Posted by: Gregg | January 3, 2007

Updates! We Crave Updates!

I haven’t updated in a while. It’s because I’ve been blazing my way through Naomi Novik’s excellent Temeraire series (of which “His Majesty’s Dragon” was only the first,) and working my way thorugh the first season of “The West Wing” on DVD. Having missed the show the first time around but a fan of anything Aaron Sorkin (“Studio 60”, “SportsNight”,) I’m clearly enjoying the hell out of it, however I can’t help but wish that John Amos really could be Chairman of the Joint Chiefs.

If you happen to be anywhere near a television this evening, I urge you to catch the premiere of “The Knights of Prosperity”, a soon-to-be-canceled half-hour comedy I enjoyed at local tv critic Aaron Barnhart’s fall premiere several months ago (his review here) and a show that is certainly destined to be jerked around by the network; judging by their advertisements, clearly they have no idea how to properly promote the thing. If you like non sequitur humor in shows like Family Guy, How I Met Your Mother, and Scrubs, you’ll like Knights. And it’s got a lot of heart, which is difficult to explain when the show is about robbing a celebrity’s house, but you’ll know what I mean once you see it.

Responses

  1. I’m right there with you on John Amos. I’ve always liked him (when I was a senior in high school, I found myself watching a lot of Good Times reruns, and he was my favorite on the show…him and “Black Power” Michael), and he’s incredibly good as Admiral Fitzwallace.

  2. I trust John Amos, singlehandedly, against pretty much any global military organization you could name. Plus, he looks like a freaking brick wall in that admiral’s outfit.

    (and yes, I finally broke down and watched “West Wing” after untold months of you begging me about it. And you were right.)

  3. Of course, now it’s 9:30 and it’s too late for me to watch it… But that’s okay, I’m not really into anything right now, so I’m happy about that (with my goal of 104 books it’s probably best to lay off the TV viewing!). I gave up on Heroes, the only show I really started half-watching last year. It wasn’t doing it for me.

    I did finish watching the fourth season of Scrubs on DVD, as well as the first season of Veronica Mars. I liked VM, and have the second season on hold, except – there’s always an except! – the theme song and it’s screeching crescendo. That is awful. Just dreadful.

  4. Did my comment not go through? First LJ eating my comments, now… Anyway, I’ll give it another try. If it’s a dup, sorry, feel free to delete!

    Of course, now it’s 9:30 and it’s too late for me to watch it… But that’s okay, I’m not really into anything right now, so I’m happy about that (with my goal of 104 books it’s probably best to lay off the TV viewing!). I gave up on Heroes, the only show I really started half-watching last year. It wasn’t doing it for me.

    I did finish watching the fourth season of Scrubs on DVD, as well as the first season of Veronica Mars. I liked VM, and have the second season on hold, except – there’s always an except! – the theme song and it’s screeching crescendo. That is awful. Just dreadful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

