Posted by: Gregg | January 18, 2007

Catching up.

Been in a bit of a funk the past week – you’d think that having school cancelled and the promise of a glorious three-day weekend would fill my heart with joy, but for some reason it didn’t. 806 got pushed back to the end of the month, so I had to play for that glorious three-day weekend with a complete disruption to my delicately-balanced spring school schedule. Now I only have one Saturday free of work or school for the next two freaking months.

Wow. Look at me bitch and moan! Again, not feeling myself this week. Seasonal Affective Disorder? Global warming? Iraq war escalation? Who the hell knows. But since nothing’s more boring to read than blogger ennui, here’s what I’ve been reading recently:

Graphic Novels: even though everyone and their dog have recommended Kurt Busiek’s Astro City for me for what seems like years, aside from an issue or two, I’ve never really gotten around to reading them. My library recently got four of the graphic novels in, so I tore right into them. Wonderful, wonderful stuff. Busiek takes everything that was both cheesy and sublime about Silver Age superheroes and weaves them into some amazing stories – his creations riff off the Fantastic Four, Superman and Wonder Woman, Spider-Man, the X-Men, and Dr. Strange. It’s not that he just rips them off and uses their influences, but he takes what is familiar with the genre and takes a new and completely different angle.

For example, a ten-year-old girl raised in a Fantastic Four-like cosmos-hopping super-scientific family finds the normalness of learning how to play hopscotch on the playground to be an amazing adventure. A powerful Superman-like hero who is aware of almost everything around him lives his life in between ticks of a second. A old man made out of living metal gets out of prison, attempts to find redemption, and ends up saving the city. Astro City is amazing stuff, well-crafted stories all, and I only wish there were more graphic novels to read.

Next: Rome!

Responses

  1. Man, this has been a funky winter, hasn’t it? My sleeping schedule is all messed up, and so is Julie’s.

    Astro City is really great. I love the First Family in a big, big way.


Leave a Reply

Categories

