Posted by: Gregg | August 7, 2007

Updates!

It’s been so long, I’ve almost forgotten I have a blog. Summer semester’s over and all papers and projects have been turned in. Good semester, but a tough one; I feel like I’ve been away for a long time in an unpleasant place doing tedious things. Kind of like the opposite of a vacation, really.

We now officially have a crib. The in-laws are in town this week, and they offered to buy us one, so on a brutally hot Sunday afternoon we drove to Nebraska Furniture Mart and picked one out. It’s what my wife calls a ‘transformer’ – it’s a largish crib that converts to a transitional bed and then into a day bed, so we can keep on using it as the kiddo grows up. It’s quite beautiful to look at, however the directions were completely nonsensical and my father-in-law and I had to put it together by a series of educated guesses mixed with repeated looks at the picture on the box with brows furrowed. Now it stands the in the room that was previously our office, a very physical representative of what’s coming our way in early December. Yeah, the anxiety level kicked up a notch.

Also, it was my birfday a few weeks ago, which I suffered under the effects of a flu/virus/bacterial apocalypse. My wife got me a wireless router, which is a glorious thing; not only can I now surf the internet on the laptop while on the potty, but I’ve networked the TiVo box into it, so now I can download content from the net and watch it on my television. You have no idea how cool this is – it’s something like three bucks a movie if I want to watch something off our regular cable pay-per-view. I can now order a movie off Amazon.com for a similar price, with older movies running just under two bucks, and some weekly specials for as cheap as ninety-nine cents. Granted, the selection is limited, but the concept of media outlets competing for my attention on my television is freakishly cool. Plus I can get videos from the Onion or Rocketboom and about two dozen other sites for free.

Books and movie reviews forthcoming. I’ve got a bunch for you.

Responses

  1. *laughs* All cribs are assembled that way. We had one given to us and once I got it all cleaned up, I say, quiet matter of fact, “Honey, c’mon. Let’s go upstairs and argue how to put this together.”

    It’s an eye opening experience. Don’t forget to tie the dresser to the wall. 🙂 And good luck doing it too. 🙂

  2. I am really excited for you both. I wonder how long before the cats call the crib their own…

  3. Me too. Excited about school stuff for you and baby stuff too. Baby Stuff!! I bet getting a crib is a little like getting the plane tickets like, holy crap, we’re really doing this!!

  4. The cats haven’t discovered the crib as of yet, since we have no mattress yet and the bottom is just narrow slats. The cats fall though. (Yes, we’ve placed them in just to prove this. Yes, we’re horrible people.)

    With luck, the cats will leave the crib alone. Or else we’re going to have to invest in some heavy-duty mosquito netting.

  5. Gregg, I’m logged in now, so my name should link you right to my pathetic little blog. Should you be so inclined. And you are, in fact, in my blogroll.

  6. Okay, so that didn’t work.
    http://heatburg.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

