Posted by: Gregg | September 19, 2007

What I been readin’.

Crazy school week for me, so apologies for the silence.

However, I have been reading two books on the sly: Soon I Will Be Invincible by Austin Grossman and Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris. Both are quite good so far but for completely different reasons, as one deals with costumed superheroes and supervillains and the other deals with vampires and a mind-reading waitress in northern Louisiana. Reviews forthcoming.

Responses

  1. Did you hear they are making the Southern Vampire series into an HBO production, scheduled to run this fall? Crazy stuff, staring Anna Paquin! đŸ˜‰

  2. I had heard about that – and as I have a crazy huge crush on the lovely and talented Miss Paquin, I’m going to have to get a hold of that series. Alan Ball from “Six Feet Under” is producing, isn’t he? All the more reason.

    Admittedly, this series has been on my radar for a while, but since it’s so popular, I’ve kind of been staying away for it for some absurd reason. (This is also why I haven’t watched “Friday Night Lights” even though everyone and their dog has been raving about it.) I picked it up this week for my wife, and I figured I’d give it a whirl over dinner break. I only got about 40 pages in, but it’s remarkably good stuff.

  3. I’ll be sure to check out your Charlene Harris review – she’s an author I keep looking at, but never quite pick up. I did start Davidson’s ‘Undead and…’ series, which was decent for a campy vampire story, if a little… well, sleazily graphic. But I’m on a horror kick at the moment, so anything with zombie, ghouls, vampires, and the like are on my list.

    If you ever get a chance to read Richard Laymon’s ‘The Stake’ (out of print) DO. It’s the best vampire story I’ve ever read, but not for the reasons you’d think. Everything I’ve so far read by him has been excellent.


Leave a Reply

Categories

