Posted by: Gregg | December 7, 2007

Resurfacing:

Thanks for everyone’s words of congratulations – they mean a lot. I’m slowly posting pics over at my long-neglected Flickr account.

By far, the first day at home was the hardest. You have this multi-month buildup where you plan and do all these things in prep for the kiddo – you get the crib and playpen, stock up on wipes and diapers, get a truckload of onesies, repaint and decorate the nursery, the whole nine – and when you get this tiny blinking creature back from the hospital and in your house for the first time, it’s like you’ve entered a completely different world than what you’re used to.

The hospital was a different matter. The two-and-a-half days were like sleep-away camp, really. You bunk with your wife, get a crash course on parenting, have a flood of counselors (nurses) overseeing you and available whenever you have a problem. At home, you’re completely on your own and acutely aware of all your shortcomings as human beings and held into account by a squalling newborn who doesn’t give a damn you haven’t showered in three days, had a shave in four, or changed your underwear in five.

Even with all that, it’s absolutely worth it and I wouldn’t change it for the world.  Little Gavin is beyond awesome; the first time he gave me a half-smile, I would have gladly done anything for that kid, even if that smile was most likely caused by gas.

I think I’m adapting quickly to fatherhood, however changing diapers is the weakest part of my game. Gavin loves to keep his knees bent and kicks furiously whenever we lay him down for a change. His legs bob and weave and it’s sort of like a high school basketball player trying to guard LeBron James.

The funniest part of all this? I have a large pile of To Be Read books from the library on my dresser. I brought them home, you see, because I thought that I’d have time to read them while I’m home from work.

Responses

  1. dude, i told you…no reading for some time! 🙂 comics, man. you want something you can read in snippets.

  2. As usual, you are correct. I’ll be off to the library at some point to stock up on graphic novels.

    Now if only the library had home delivery….

  3. already been there….here’s my 2 cents:
    1. use Post-it-Notes as bookmarks. they
    “stick” around when you drop the book.
    2. leave a book in the baby’s room or nursery.
    you’ll get to read 4 pages a day.
    3. read to your child NOW. anything.
    Gavin wants to hear your voice.
    (i read Jurassic Park back in the day)
    4. finally, log off. get some sleep.

  4. LOL, you were foolish to think you would read. Glad you are a father now 🙂 sounds awesome… except for the diaper part.

  5. *laughs* I’ve got two cuties and I’m just now catching up on blogs! 🙂

    As for diaper changing, I can reccomend ensuring that your dominant hand is the one doing the action and that your off hand is the one holding the ankles of the other. I keep my pointer finger between the legs, the thumb surrounding one, the rest of your fingers around the other leg.

  6. CONGRATS! Oh, I dunno, in the first few weeks the newborns usually sleep for like 4 or 5 hours at a time, I bet you could squeek a book in.

  7. Adorable! Congrats!

  8. Read in the john (if you’re logging feedings, logging in the john’s a great way to remind yourself to go to the bathroom.) Read post-feeding. Read a few pages every time you go in to make sure that he’s still breathing.

    More importantly, read stuff you’ve already read. I dove back into LeCarre after the guys were born; don’t think I would’ve been able to pull off new stuff, but going back to something well-worn and comfortable is a good way to go.

  9. Gregg–I agree, read to Gavin! Don’t ever stop that wonderful habit! And more importantly, SLEEP!

    Hope to see you in class!


Leave a Reply

Categories

