Posted by: Gregg | January 7, 2008

Juno

My parents are good-hearted enough to watch the kiddo for a few hours so my wife and I could get some non-baby time in. With a three-hour getaway time frame in which we could do pretty much anything we wanted, what do you think we did? We went to the movies and saw a film about, you guessed it, pregnancy.

Juno more than lived up to its indie-darling hype. This film about a teenage girl and her quest to find a family for her unborn baby is self-aware and solidly quirky, but intelligent and completely charming. Actress Ellen Page, last seen in Hard Candy, continues to be impressive despite her youth and has made my list of Actresses I Will Watch No Matter What the Movie She’s In, the cinematic equivalent of the coveted Save ‘Til I Delete status on my TiVo. She doesn’t have to carry the film by herself, as she has the likes of J.K. Simmons, Allison Janney, Michael Cera, Jason Bateman, and Jennifer Garner around her.

One of the things that struck me the most about Juno is that it speaks in a solidly female voice. Not feminist, or proto-feminist, or even neo-proto feminist, but female. The movie was written by a woman, told from the point of view of Juno, and that comes through in every frame of the movie, which in the male-dominated world of indie film, is a nice change. Compare with a film like Superbad, which I absolutely love, but, let’s face it, was a movie that was all about the penis. I’m okay with the vagina every so often.

Responses

  1. I just saw it today, too, and loved it. Though your last paragraph compels me to point out that it was directed by a dude.

  2. Neat. You wrote exactly what I was thinking. I love Ellen Page even though she is a beady-eyed Canadian, and I worship CJ Craig – oops I mean Allison Janey. And my adoration of Diablo Cody is steadfast.

    Too bad the Fred Phelps crowd is latching onto the movie because the character (gasps!) keeps teh fetus.

  3. Granted, if she has the abortion there is no movie, but there’s really not much for the Phelps crew to object too, here.

    I take that back. Phelps once picketed a stage production of “Cats” my wife and I attended in Lawrence. What could anyone possibly find objectionable to “Cats”? Besides the play itself, which we walked out of. We left because it sucked, not because of anything Phelps thought about it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

