Posted by: Gregg | January 20, 2010

23 Things Kansas. (Or, Welcome Back, Bookpusher.)

The library folks I’ve decided to throw my career lot in with are a neat bunch – we’re a curious, quirky lot, but some of us can be a bit uncomfortable with this whole internet thing. So they’ve gotten together and created a website and a program entitled 23 Things Kansas where we can learn about new technologies and get to know each other. When I first heard about it, I thought – great idea…. for other people. But for me? I’ve been up on the whole web 2.0 world since it began and have been blogging on various platforms since forever, so why spend the time?

And then I thought about how much I’ve actually posted recently, which isn’t much. So, yeah, I’m on board. I’ll be posting on a more regular schedule, and I’ll also be posting 23 Things-related stuff from time to time.

For anyone who’s new to the blog, I’ll introduce myself – my name is Gregg Winsor, currently with the Johnson County Library, a public library system right outside of Kansas City. I graduated with my Master’s this year from Emporia State and am currently looking for a full-time gig. I’m a Reader’s Advisory freak and love books – I’ll pretty much read anything, but my passion will run to crime thrillers and noirs –  my favorite authors are Raymond Chandler, Michael Connelly, Charlie Huston, Megan Abbott, George Pelecanos, and Robert Crais, among many, many others. I enjoy blogging but tend to get lazy – as an example, I’ve been focusing most of my online time recently on Facebook, where posts are shorter and reaction from readers are much more immediate, but 23 Things Kansas signals a rededication to the longer-form blogs and book reviews that I love to do.

Thanks, as always, for reading.

Responses

  1. Hey Gregg,
    I’m liking the blog-o-sphere so far. Good to see you’ve joined 23things. Hope to see you at the next KC librarian meeting- I won’t be able to make it this month.
    : *) Jenny

  2. Hey Gregg,

    I love the title of your blog. I will have to dig around and take a look at some of your older posts. Like you, I have started blogs, but always went back to Facebook where things were more immediate and shorter. It’s also a lot easier to update on my phone. Sometimes when I look at a computer at work all day, the last thing I want to do is go home on a computer and blog. I am enjoying 23ThingsKansas so far and have learned a lot of things so far from a lot of the other participants. It’s been fun. I look foward to reading more of your posts.

    Janelle Mercer


Leave a Reply

Categories

